Profiles of Union Election Commission Members

Shortly after the promulgation of the Union Election Commission Law in March, Burma's junta appointed a Union Election Commission of 18 members. The commission is led by former major-general Thein Soe, who has served as a military judge advocate-general and deputy chief justice of the Supreme Court. The Irrawaddy compiled brief profiles of several of the commission members and will be updating the list as further details arrive.

No Name Position Profile Photo
1 Thein Soe Chairman A former major-general who served as a military judge advocate-general and later as deputy chief justice of the Supreme Court. He was also a member of the commission that drafted the 2008 Constitution.
2 Win Ko SEcretary Joint Secretary of Commission for Drafting State Constitution and Director General of the former multi-party General Election Commission. He has a master's degree in law.
3 N Zaw Naw Member A Kachin national and former district law officer in Myitkyina, capital of Kachin State. He also served on the commission that drafted the 2008 constitution.
4 Khin Maung Nu Member
5 Saw Ba Hlaing Member
6 Dr. Ba Maung Member A former director-general of the Historical Research Department.
7 Nyunt Tin Member
8 Maung Tha Hla Member
9 Dr. Sai Khan Hlaing Member
10 Aung Myint Member A former member of the Civil Service Selection and Training Board and an ex-director of the military-owned Myanmar [Burma] Economic Holdings Limited. In 1962, he joined the Burmese Air Force as a lieutenant rising to the rank of Lt-Colonel. He also served in the office of the Judge Advocate General after gaining his certificate of advocateship in the late 1970s.
11 Myint Naing Member A former Deputy Attorney General.
12 Dr. Tin Aung Aye Member A former Supreme Court judge who also served on the constitution-drafting commission. He was earlier a professor and rector of Rangoon University.
13 Dr. Myint Kyi Member A former head of the department of international relations at Rangoon University. She also served as chairwoman of the Myanmar [Burma] Women's Affairs Federation.
14 Khin Hla Myint Member
15 Tha Oo Member
16 Dr. Maung Htoo Member A retired professor and former rector of Monywa University, Sagaing Division.
17 Tha Htay Member
18 Win Kyi Member

Get Updates