Constituencies at the National, State and Division Levels

Burma will hold parliamentary elections on Nov. 7, the first in 20 years. According to the new Constitution approved in a referendum in 2008, the country has a bicameral parliament at the national level and a regional parliament in each of seven states and seven divisions. On Aug.11, the Union Election Commission defined the constituencies of all the parliaments.

The People's Parliament (Pyithu Hluttaw) is composed of 440 seats, but only 330 seats will be elected by the people in 330 constituencies, which are defined in accord with the 330 townships of the country.


Get Updates