2007 Mission Report: Philippines National Election – Autonomous Muslim Mindanao

View Full Report (PDF)

The election in the Philippines has been generally noted with high rates of voter's turnout despite the obstacles of transportation and sometimes the threat of violence. Elections are very much enjoyed and expected by the Philippines people who strongly exercise their right to vote. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo is currently the 14th President of Philippines and has been in succession to the residency since January 2001. Since the beginning of her Presidency she had outlined her vision of building Philippines as a strong republic which consisted of a strong bureaucracy, improving the economic growth and intensifying the counter-terrorism efforts among other things. In 2004 she decided to contest the Presidential elections for a new six-year term.


Get Updates